Respite

Tell me how did you know
To fill the spaces in me
When I didn’t even know 
They existed.
Tell me where did you learn
The art of loving so deeply
That you become
Home. 
Tell me why did you not leave me 
When I was drained and toxic
And leaving was the easiest goddamned thing
You stayed.

Tell me how do you know 
Where to touch me to hurt me 
And yet silence me making me
Calm. 
Tell me where did you learn
The art of masking your blades so smoothly
They seem like healing even when they 
Cut.
Tell me why did you not leave me
When I goddamn wanted you to. 

Muskaan Sancheti

Picture Source: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

