The Women

A woman once told me
The roses will smell good
Only if the roots are watered good
And the shoot is given light enough.
And her eyes once told me
The people will be nice
Only if the hearts are warmed
And the soul is given rhythm enough.
Another woman once told me 
The rose in her hair had dry roots
Grew in dump, but smelled the same.
You be what you choose to be
And the eyes once told me
The ‘home’ of bricks might break 
But what your soul homes, my love
Always remains- in bits and pieces as it may
Both the women who told me so
Had eyes of great innocence 
That somehow bled spark and past
In streams of what they called tears.
Maybe so because it tore their soul.
They had beautiful eyes,
And open souls,
The women who told me,
Oh, the women who told me so.

Muskaan Sancheti 

Picture Source: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

